O Salad! My Salad!

Qualified Entry: Non-Fiction Category

By: Lynn M.

O salad! My salad! Your colors oh how they shine,
When I make it, the veggie choice is mine.
Tomatoes, lettuce, carrots galore,
Cucumber, cheese, what more?

But O dressing! Dressing! Dressing!
We’re out of ranch
The Salad no longer has a dance,
The vegetables are dead.

O salad! My salad! I prepare you with care,
With tongs and a fork, I also tie up my hair
I cut, slice, and wash you too,
But no dressing to cover, I am very blue.

Here salad! Dear snack!
This bowl beneath you,
I don’t know what to do,
The vegetables are dead.

My salad is ruined and hungry I am,
Now in my salad I can put ham.
The dressing is gone; I must move on.
My snack, veggies, and appetite are gone.

But O salad! My salad!
We’re out of Ranch
The salad no longer has a dance,
The vegetables are dead.

